Teacher of the Year

Katherine Dobbs


Katherine Dobbs - Teacher of the Year 2020-2021
Interim Superintendent, Donald Andrews, District Tacher of the Year Katherine Dobbs, and Director of Human Resources, Lester McCall


I am so honored and excited to have been chosen as the ASD2 Teacher of the Year 2020-2021! I grew up in Columbia, SC and received my BA in Studio Art from the College of Charleston in 2013. Shortly after that, I started graduate school at Converse College and received my Master of Arts in Teaching and fell in love with the upstate of SC! I taught art classes at the Spartanburg Art Museum during my time at Converse College, and have always loved working with and teaching art to children. 

I started teaching at Marshall Primary School in August 2016, and have loved working in ASD2 ever since! I have been so lucky to have learned from the incredibly hard-working and inspiring teachers here in our district, and I have received so much support from the MPS teachers, our administration, our staff, and the other art teachers/support staff in the district. I cannot thank my ASD2 friends enough for all they have done to help me along the way!

Teaching art is such an incredible way to build relationships and connections with students; it lets them express themselves, build confidence, and use their imagination in so many ways! It makes me so incredibly happy when art brings a smile to students' faces! As a teacher, I believe we have the power to make the educational experience as positive and amazing as possible for the students of ASD2, and I aim to continue pursuing that goal.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me along this journey! I am excited for this school year to begin!


  • Painting and photography
  • Playing with my rescue dogs
  •  Traveling
  • Spending time with my family and friends


ASD2 Teachers of the Year 2020-2021
Deanna Kroskie Belton Elementary, Misty Moore Wright Elementary, Katie King Belton Middle School, Katherine Dobbs Marshall Primary - District Teacher of Year, Brittany Orr Honea Path Elementary, Jennifer Wagner Honea Path Middle, and Gil Cade Belton Honea Path High

 Congratulations to our
Anderson Two Teachers of the Year!

School Logo
Employee Portal
  • Language